Fourth Governing Board Meeting of SAARC Cultural Centre Concludes Successfully


The SAARC Cultural Centre hosted the Fourth Meeting of its Governing Board on 2 and 3 October 2012 at the Mount Lavinia Hotel, Colombo. The meeting was convened under Chairmanship of Shri Pramod K. Jain (Joint Secretary, Ministry of Culture, Government of India).  Other distinguished members who represented their countries at the Governing Board Meeting were: Ms. Parag (Joint Secretary (Admin), Ministry of Cultural Affairs, Bangladesh), Mr. Dorjee Tshering (Director General, Department of Culture, Bhutan), Mr. M. Ramachandran (Director, Indian Cultural Centre, Colombo), Hon. Mr. Ahmed Shameem (Minister of State for Tourism, Arts and Culture, Maldives), Mr. Balkrishna Ghimire (Joint Secretary, Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Nepal), Ms. Tara Sharma (Attaché, Embassy of Nepal in Sri Lanka), Mr. Muhammad Daud Ehtisham (Press Attaché, Pakistan High Commission in Sri Lanka), Mr. Wasantha Ekanayake (Secretary,  Ministry of Culture and the Arts, Sri Lanka),  Mrs. Damayanthi Rajapakse (Director General (SAARC), Ministry of External Affairs, Sri Lanka) and Mr. Poshitha Perera (Deputy Director (SAARC & South Asia), Ministry of External Affairs, Sri Lanka). Mr. Prasanna Gamage (Director (ESC), SAARC Secretariat) represented the Secretariat and Mr. G.L.W. Samarasinghe, Director of SAARC Cultural Centre represented the Centre.

After reviewing the progress of Centre’s work, the Board congratulated the Centre for its aspiring achievements and the strong committed contribution towards safeguarding and promoting diverse aspects of South Asian Culture. The plan of activities and programmes proposed under the five year programme of the SAARC Cultural Centre was approved by the Board of Governors for the year 2013.