The languages in India are divided into 4 main language family: Indo-European, Dravidian, Austro-Asiatic, and Sino-Tibet; of which Indo-European and Dravidan languages are sopken by a majority.

The languages of India can also be understood, in general, in accordance with its geography. The people in the Northern Himalyan region and near the Burmese border speak Sino-Tibetian languages, the Northern and central region usually speak languages that fall under the Indo-European family, people in southern India speak languages from the Dravidan group, and some ethnic groups in North Eastern India speak Austro-Asiatic.

Photo Source: Central Institute of Indian Languages

For more information on Indian Languages please visit this comprehensive site of the Central Institute of Indian Languages.

The Eighth Schedule of Indian constitution allows for the “progressive use of the Hindi language for the official purposes of the Union